Deactivating Users / Recycle Bin / Transferring Records

Deactivating Users

If an employee leaves your company and is replaced by another employee, it is a best practice to deactivate the old user and create a new user. Please never just exchange the username and email address.

Step 1

To deactivate the login for a User

1. Click Setup | Manage Users | Users.
2. Click the checkbox next to the user's name and click the freeze button. (Stops the session if they are logged in)
3. Click Edit next to a user’s name.
4. Deselect the Active checkbox and click Save.

Step 2

Even if the user is deactivated, his license for Propertybase is still active. To remove the users license, to enable Propertybase for another user;

1. Click Setup | Build | Installed Packages.
2. Click on the link "Manage Licenses" next to "Propertybase"
3. Click on "Remove" next to the user you have deactivated


This can also be done from the SalesforceA mobile app Apple iOS, Google Android

If this is an Admin user please see the How to change your Administrator Access article

Processes running with an Inactive User

There is things to consider after you have deactivated a user that the system does not alert you about. You will need to change all Action Plans, Workflows, Process Builder, Dashboards as running user and Front Desk going to the user. Each one will fail if they do not have an active user.


Transferring Records to a new User

There is a couple ways of doing this you can use the Mass Transferring Wizard or you could use the Data Loader to transfer records to the new user.

 

Recycle Bin

If by any chance that the user has deleted any records before they left make sure you check the Recycle Bin. Go to any object and check on the left side bar at the bottom. If you don't see a left side bar make sure you expand it. 

 

Here is some more documentation on the Recycle Bin

https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewHelpDoc?id=home_delete.htm 

Powered by Zendesk